Growing Up Enculted – Part 1


Merriam Webster’s dictionary offers a total of five definitions of the word “cult,” yet I believe the fifth comes closest to the sort of cult that has become taboo throughout most of the modern world. That fifth definition is:

 

“great devotion to a person, idea, object, movement, or work (as a film or book); especially : such devotion regarded as a literary or intellectual fad”

I believe that the World would indeed be closer to utopia if Christianity, particularly Catholicism which I was so ardently subjected to by my parents, was included in the taboo that is often given to what most people would call a “cult.” I am; however, not the first to point this out. Many intellectual men have made similar observations in the past, but I do hope that Catholics will be willing to listen to reasons I will give to explain why I believe my personhood was violated by their religion.

This book is not a collection of clever contradictions that an open-minded reader could easily find if they were to read the Bible.

Christian Bible, rosary, and crucifix.

Christian Bible, rosary, and crucifix. (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

I believe that would be a waste of the great position I, a sixteen year old boy, have been put in to expose what I consider to be the incredible, often overlooked, impact Christianity has had on children. If it is, in fact, contradictions and laughs you are seeking I suggest you search online for biblical contradictions. Once you are finished with those I urge you to come back and examine my take on the suffering that has been caused by Christianity. This book is meant to be a serious look into serious harms inflicted on children and humanity as a whole.

I would also like to offer something many people seem to think atheists are incapable of giving. The offer I extend is an apology. That apology is available to anyone who may be made to appear inferior throughout the course of this book. I do not want Christians to be looked upon as a plague of moral corruption upon the earth. There are many Catholics that are completely unaware that the Church they so eagerly make donations to, travels to the continent most ravaged by AIDS and tells the inhabitants that condoms warrant eternal damnation. I do not think that supporting an organization out of ignorance is evil, if I did I would have no reason to write this book. I believe the more educated to people are on the subject of Christianity’s shortcomings the more likely they will be to make morally correct decisions regarding the religion.

There is already an incredibly large amount of books dedicated to disproving god; this book is not written with that intent. I am a sophomore, not a college graduate, and I do not believe I am fit to write on such a complicated subject. A Christian not willing to read this book cannot give the excuse that this book is written by someone trying to disprove god, because I am merely offering knowledge that I have accumulated on the subject of Christianity’s effect on a child’s upbringing.

 

This is part one of the series I call “Growing Up Enculted.” I may end up publishing it so enjoy!

 

10 Responses to Growing Up Enculted – Part 1

  1. Good thoughts. Keep up the great content!

  2. imbrocata says:

    Really looking forward to following this. Your topic is fascinating to me and something that crosses my mind often.

  3. tobeforgiven says:

    Hmmm. I would suggest to you that, while you seem to have made up your mind on this subject that you look beyond the “Disprooving God” books and research the good that Christianity has done.

    If you want suggestions on finding this, I would be glad to point you in the right direction.

    But I would also give you this warning. As a 16 year old I would caution you against labeling yourself at such a young age.
    Ill tell you what I mean. You as a “Catholic” were (probably) baptized into Christianity as an infant, before you could make a decision for yourself. So that identity was claimed for you. But a real commitment to Christ is not forced, it is not enculted (as you say).

    In the same way, I would not, as a young man allow old men to influence labels on you. But keep your identity for that time when you do know enough. Hitchens, Dawkins, and the like, are trying to influence their readers, the same way an evangelical preacher might influence his hearers. But you, through real study and real liberty have to come to a decision yourself.

    Perhaps, this work, if not biased, if “open minded” could be the avenue for you to do this.

  4. […] Growing Up Enculted – Part 1 (secularjustice.wordpress.com) […]

  5. misterjep says:

    I really like your direction, dude. Keep it up. I went through the same process of shedding my catholicism, starting at about the same age. It was a painful process, and lonely at times, but has worked out really well. Good on you. I’ll be following your posts.

  6. Hmm… you sound like Martin Luther. You may enjoy the Lutheran religion. They’re a funny lot, and they always bring a lot of great food for after church.

    I’ve dabbled in several religions, but returned to the religion I grew up in. Yep. I’m one of those crazy-assed beer-lovin, polka-dancin, casserole-eatin, sex-cravin Lutherans.

    Oh, I enjoyed your article. 🙂

    • Ethan Hill says:

      Thank you!

      I have many Lutheran friends and I respect their religion a lot, actually. Martin Luther took the gospels and interpreted them in a way that was selfless, not selfish. Catholicism has successfully thrown out Aristotle’s philosophy of finding a “Golden Mean.” Catholicism deals in extremes which, unfortunately, happens to be the only way to create a successful religion.
      Thanks for reading!! I will be posting part 3 today so stay tuned, and share it with other if you like.
      🙂

  7. […] Growing Up Enculted – Part 1 (secularjustice.wordpress.com) Share this:TwitterFacebookLike this:LikeBe the first to like this post. […]

Leave a Reply

